4806 Update: 11/8

Throughout the semester, I must write a weekly post for credit in my Editing and Production class. Certain redundancies will occur between these “4806 Updates” and posts earlier in the week.

I hope the romance of sports photography waits to dissipate until after I finish learning the basics of shooting sports.

As I stolled into the bright lights of Mizzou Arena’s basketball court, my eyes bright with excitement, a “how luck am I?” grin plastered all over my face, an MU Athletics security guard grabbed me by the arm and stuck a finger in my face.

“No cameras on that side of the court. You can sit there,” he points, “or there. Either way, never walk down here, and try to stay out of the way.”

Stupid mistake number one.

Stupid mistake number two: I didn’t arrive early enough to stake out a quality position. I sat down just to the right of the Mizzou basket with my long lens equipped and ready to shoot. Here’s the problem: a lens that long, from that close to the basket, made it extremely difficult to take quality pictures. The referee often stood directly in front of my line of sight, and when Mizzou beat him down the court on a fast break, I would zoom in on the rim and wait for a dunk. When the fateful dunks came, my lens was too close to get the full action in the frame.

For the second half, I sniped a much better spot on the other side of the court—remember, the teams switch directions after half so I still had Mizzou coming at me—and the quality of my pictures improved drastically.

Still, though, the long lens is just a bit too long for those action shots close to the rim. Most of the other non-student photojournalists there had two cameras. I tried switching my long lens and wide-angle lens, but the aperture on the wide angle refused to dip below 4. I haven’t figured out a solution to this problem yet—I will address that with Karen this week.

I still put out a decent crop of photos, and I hope to improve upon them this week. Missouri’s men’s team has one more exhibition game before the real action starts. I really have no desire to write at this point, mostly because I am so completely enamored with taking pictures.

We’re training to become backpack journalists though, and I concede my pack will probably have more than two cameras…I suppose there’s still room for a laptop, recorder, “notepad” (how archaic is THAT?) and a Marantz.

On a side note, I now understand photojournalists occasional frustration with editors who arbitrarily pick which photo to run with a story. Could they have picked a worse photo from the Oklahoma game to run alongside this story?

http://www.kctv5.com/sports/25542819/detail.html

Lesson learned. Only upload those pictures you would never be ashamed to have run solo.

Mizzou basketball slideshow:

http://www.kctv5.com/slideshow/sports/25653584/detail.html

I also wrote a preview this week. Do <a href=”http://www.kctv5.com/sports/25640300/detail.html”>check it out

One response to “4806 Update: 11/8

  1. Hey newbie!! I laughed when I read your piece, and I could really feel your pain. Remember, football field long,…… basketball court short!….. I can not imagine how difficult it must be to courtside, with so many things happening all at the same time. Make sure that if you get yelled at, and they ask for your name, tell them it’s Hammacher.

    Hang in there, your shots improve the more photos you take, and you start anticipating where the action is going to happen next. Gramps is smiling.

Leave a Reply

